Light bar requires new alternator? - Yamaha YXZ 1000R Forum
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-01-2015, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13
Light bar requires new alternator?

I was looking through the accessories page on yamaha's website, saw that they had an alternator as an optional accessory if your going to use a light bar.

I do want to install a light bar once I get my YXZ, but I kind of figured these things already had an alternator. How else does it keep the battery charged? Or is the factory alternator just super tiny, just big enough to run the LED headlights?

Can anybody comment on this? What light bar do you use / plan to use. Did you install a new alternator? Which alternator?

https://www.shopyamaha.com/product/d...&dealernumber=
Dayton is offline  
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-02-2015, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dayton View Post
I was looking through the accessories page on yamaha's website, saw that they had an alternator as an optional accessory if your going to use a light bar.

I do want to install a light bar once I get my YXZ, but I kind of figured these things already had an alternator. How else does it keep the battery charged? Or is the factory alternator just super tiny, just big enough to run the LED headlights?

Can anybody comment on this? What light bar do you use / plan to use. Did you install a new alternator? Which alternator?

https://www.shopyamaha.com/product/d...&dealernumber=
I think you may be able to get by with a second battery... not sure though

Nessuno is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-07-2015, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 113
Seems like poor design to have to buy an extra battery or alternator in order to use a lightbar. At a minimum they should sell those batteries or alternator with the lightbar instead of separately.
CanGuy is offline  
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-07-2015, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Sixto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanGuy View Post
Seems like poor design to have to buy an extra battery or alternator in order to use a lightbar. At a minimum they should sell those batteries or alternator with the lightbar instead of separately.
Poor design eh? so when you use a power bar to plug in extra things to the wall would you say that the socket was poorly designed? GTFO...
Sixto is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-08-2015, 12:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 117
Garage
I'm running a Rigid Industries 20" Single row bar with no 2nd battery or alternator and no issues so far..I don't sit around with engine off and lights on or anything
Sixto and allterrain like this.
ShiftNitSE is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-08-2015, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShiftNitSE View Post
I'm running a Rigid Industries 20" Single row bar with no 2nd battery or alternator and no issues so far..I don't sit around with engine off and lights on or anything
What AMP is the alternator?



Sixto likes this.
allterrain is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-08-2015, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShiftNitSE View Post
I'm running a Rigid Industries 20" Single row bar with no 2nd battery or alternator and no issues so far..I don't sit around with engine off and lights on or anything
Good to gear.
Dayton is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-08-2015, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Sixto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShiftNitSE View Post
I'm running a Rigid Industries 20" Single row bar with no 2nd battery or alternator and no issues so far..I don't sit around with engine off and lights on or anything
stock alt?
Sixto is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-08-2015, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 117
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixto View Post
stock alt?
yes
ShiftNitSE is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-12-2015, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixto View Post
Poor design eh? so when you use a power bar to plug in extra things to the wall would you say that the socket was poorly designed? GTFO...
But they know people are likely to add these. They even showed the YXZ with one when they first launched it. Perhaps not poor design, but they should make adding one as easy as possible.
CanGuy is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yamaha YXZ1000R Lighting, Electrical and Audio Accessory List Yamaha YXZ News YXZ 1000R Accessories & Add Ons 0 09-01-2015 04:10 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome